Accademia Bizantina - Il Ritorno di Ulisse in Patria - Claudio Monteverdi

Il Ritorno di Ulisse in Patria

Opera in one Prologue and three Acts

Libretto by Giacomo Badoaro

Live recorded at Teatro della Pergola in Florence, between June 28th and 30th, 2021.



  • Ulisse – Charles Workman
  • Telemaco – Anicio Zorzi Giustiniani
  • Penelope – Delphine Galou
  • Iro – John Daszak
  • Il Tempo – Francesco Milanese
  • Giunone – Marina De Liso
  • La Fortuna – Eleonora Bellocci
  • L’Humana fragilità – Pierre Antoine Chaumien; Miriam Albano; Mark Milhofer
  • Giove – Gianluca Margheri
  • Nettuno – Guido Loconsolo
  • Minerva – Arianna Vendittelli
  • Amore – Konstantin Derri
  • Antinoo – Andrea Patucelli
  • Anfinomo – Pierre Antoine Chaumien
  • Pisandro – James Hall
  • Melanto – Miriam Albano
  • Eurimaco – Hugo Hymas
  • Eumete – Mark Milhofer
  • Ericlea – Natascha Petrinsky


Ottavio Dantonedirettore

Accademia Bizantina


A pioneer in the development of opera, Claudio Monteverdi took vocal music beyond Renaissance polyphony into an era when genuine feelings and emotions could be expressed. Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria is part of a late flourish in Monteverdi’s illustrious career, and is considered the most tender and moving of his operas. His hero Ulysses is forced to undergo cruel trials, adversity, betrayal and deception before he can be reunited with his beloved Queen Penelope and recover his kingdom.
This acclaimed production is directed by renowned early music specialist Ottavio Dantone, who considers Il ritorno di Ulisse in patria

“the most beautiful opera ever written”.


on upcoming

Want to be among the first to listen to our new albums?
Sign up to our newsletter:
we will keep you posted on all Accademia Bizantina news.

Form Contatto interna album INGLESE